2012 in Review (Part 1)

Jan- Found VA3QV  participating in the SPAR Winter field Day event and the North American QSO Party.  I also got DXCC 119 (unconfirmed) in the log.  I had loads of fun with the Winter Field day event and plan to participate again later this month.

sparlogo

Feb-  I tossed about a few choice comments on the Radio Amateurs of Canada plans to restructure the Ontario Section into 4 sections.

IMG_2360[2]

In the middle of Feb I also participated as a radio operator for the Canadian Ski Marathon.

IMG_2378[2]

I was one of the Net Control operators based at the Chateau Montebello.  (Public Service is so rough)

March- In March I participated in the ARRL DX Contest and brought my DXCC Total up to 122 (unconfirmed in the log.  I also started getting the FT817 back into the great outdoors as the weather started to get better.  I also got a chance to operate in the CQ WW SSB contest.  March also brought our first Thunderstorm of the year which caused a very quick disconnect of the antennas but washed away enough of the snow to get my Electric Vespa back on the road for the season.

April- In April we started hearing stuff about Canadian Amateurs finally getting some space on the 60m band but it was hard to get a straight answer on what we had to do to get on the air.  After most of 2012 they still don’t it figured out yet and for now I won’t bother with 60m.  For me the big event was the 250,000 visitor to this blog.  It was one of two milestones that would be achieved this year.  In mid April I participated in the Ontario QSO Party from Foymount Ontario at the old radar base.

va3pcj_foymount_4

There was VA3PCJ, VA2EPR and myself all operating QRP.

I guess we did something right as VA3PCJ was the high score not only for QRP but also the high score for Renfrew County.  It was a very cold day and we operated outside in snow and freezing rain conditions.

AlexandriaDEMO3

Towards the end of month I assisted with a communications demonstration for the Glengarry Hospital in Alexandria Ontario which helped them create a part of the Hospital’s updated emergency plan.

May- As much time as I could spend, was spent playing in the parks before the kids got out of school for the year and also before the bugs got too bad.

cncyclelogo1

Along with that I managed to participate in the CN Cycle as a radio operator.  The event is a major fundraiser for the Childrens Hospital of Eastern Ontario and as a Father, Grandfather and Great Grandfather the hospital has seen 3 generations of Sharp Family so far…  DXCC 132 (unconfimred) also made it into the log.

LarryWilcoxContest1

larrywilcoxresults

I operated in the Larry Wilcox Memorial VHF FM Contest and also helped LASA chase and find a balloon that we launched for St John School in Perth Ontario.

ve3rex-11-recovery-team-va3qv-ve3xgd

It was a great month…

More in the next posting…

73bob

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 914 other followers

