2012 in Review (Part 2)

Continued from Part 1….

In June like all good hams…  Field Day Plans were made…  I also tried to participate in the June VHF QSO Party but all I did was break my portable Delta Loop and made only 1 local 6m contact…

6m_Delta_Loop

I tried to make the antenna light enough to pack up a SOTA summit but as it turns out I made it too flimsy…  Still working on Version 1.1 for next year…

DSCF4532

DSCF4531

I did however also get a chance to take a brand new KX3 for a test drive and all I could do was drool…  I did say its a hell of a radio and I hope to add one to my list of toys before the end of 2012…  My only issue is that my FT817 is still a dependable radio… hard to justify the expense but I do want one…

I managed to get invited to participate in a SOTA Activation with VA3SIE up at Mount Morisette QC and I had a great time and fortunately it was an easy location to get to and lots of contacts were given out…

June was a very busy month as our ARES group provided communications for the Rideau Lakes Cycle Tour.  This is a two day 400 km event where the riders depart Ottawa on a Saturday am and ride to Kingston Ontario.  Sunday am they depart Kingston and return to Ottawa… Better them than me I tell you…

During this time DXCC 134 (unconfirmed) made it into the log…  The end of June brought around Field Day 2012 and on the Saturday I participated with the Ottawa Amateur Radio Club and on the Sunday VA3PCJ and myself operated VE3DTI as a QRP Battery Powered entry and we had a blast…  FT 817 and an IC 703 together were strong enough to place first in our Catagory in Canada…

connie4

At the very end of June we were visited by NR4CB “The Bionic Nerd” as she passed through Eastern Ontario.  Members of the 3730/VE3ORF Group met up with Connie at the Iroquois Lock Station and set up a FT897 Portable Station and a BBQ and a great afternoon was had by all…

connie6

July-In July I participated in the RAC Canada Day Contest and the IARU Contest.  I managed to get E51 (South Cook Islands) into the log for DXCC 135 (unconfirmed).

cy9mlogo_top

I also managed to get the CY9M DXPedition  into the log on several bands including 6m for DXCC 136 (unconfirmed) It was a good month.

August-  With the kindness of my fellow amateurs who provided transportation for me I was able to participate in 2 mini DXPeditions this month.  Michel VE3EMB and myself activated Mt Rigaud in VE2Land for the Summits on the Air Program …

rigaudradiotowers2

rigaudradioft817

And VA3PCJ and myself went “up the Ottawa Valley” to activate the Sand Point Lighthouse for the International Lighthouse event…

sandpoint7

sandpoint6

and DXCC 139 (unconfimred) made it into the log…

September- I missed the Carp Hamfest this year but I did manage to get my Logbook of The World account up and running and those 139 unconfimred DXCC quickly turned in 92 confirmed and the hunt was on….

LoTW_2

I had a very busy time and was part of the Ottawa Amateur Radio Club Portable station demonstration at Britannia Park in Ottawa along with partake with Ottawa Valley QRP Society at their Chilicon QRP event.

va3qv_britannia_2012

chilicon

chiliconradio2

mtstemarie3

mtstemarie6_Glenn_Dave

I even had time to try a SOTA Microwave Activation as well…  We operated the ARRL Contest from Mount Ste Marie QC and VE3XRA, VA3SIE, VE3TLY, VA2EPR and myself had fun and I got to try a new thing…  Not sure if that microwave stuff is for me though…

October-  The weather was still holding out great so I managed to spend lots of time in the local parks with my FT817 and we took in the Fall Colours….

weston4

weston2

Also members of the 3730/VE3ORF group spent some time at the Apple Hill Scout Camp and showed off our hobby to the Scouts as part of the Jamboree on the Air (JOTA).

va3mpmjota3

va3mpmjota6

The youngsters were (or at least seemed to be) impressed and they had fun and so did we….

November- In November I was still operating portable in the parks as the WX was holding…  But every nice day was a bonus.

weston5a

I participated in the ARRL Sweepstakes and gave out lots of contacts from the New Ontario East Section (ONE) and it was nice to be chased rather than a chaser…

dxcc phone

As everyone was updating their LoTW accounts with all the major contesting going on, I finally got my DXCC confirmed on LoTW.  Early in 2013 (once the mail service calms down after the Christmas Rush) I will be sending away for my Certificate from the ARRL.  100w and a vertical antenna can do the job…  My totals as of todays date are 101 confirmed out of 147 in the log…

December- For a multitude of reasons December was a slow month as far as radio stuff went.  The parks finally snowed over and I was not as enthuaistic about heading out.  The Electric Vespa has been tarped up and is safely sitting in the back yard under a pile of snow.

fc40tuner

I did some comparision shopping for the new tuner I need after selling both my FC 40 and my LDG and that should be ordered early in the new year…

Z100F

Z100Plus

Coming early in 2013

One thing did happen though…  In mid December this blog hit the 100,000 visitor mark.  This was one of my goals and so far two of my goals have been obtained this year.  We managed a total of a Quarter Million (250,000) hits earlier this year since I started the blog 5 years ago and then this year we manage 100,000 visitors in only one year.  Thank you to my followers for your support…

All in all its been a fantastic year.  I tried to show you how much fun this hobby of ours can be.  I know I had a blast doing stuff.  Not sure what going to happen in the New Year…  I’ve still got my health and I still love this hobby so you know that I will still be trying to convince you to get out and play radio…

QRP-DXCC-ARRL

My big goal for 2013 is work on getting my QRP DXCC which mean getting out a bit more with the FT817.

FT817_LDG_Z11_Combo

However if I were to get that KX3 I have been drooling over then perhaps that would be a bit easier…  It does have me thinking about it…

elecraft_kx3

Anyway for now…  Thanks for visiting and Happy Hammy New Year

73bob

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 913 other followers

