Results from the Contest

It was a very small effort put in this year….  It was also the first Major Contest that I had tried to operate QRP and it was not as good as expected….

political-world-map-big

However as a result of the contest the following was attained….

27 contacts in 19 different DXCC Entities.  Out of those 19 DXCC entities worked 8 of them were new ones for my QRP DXCC and two of them were new ones for my DXCC.

Contacts were made on 10m, 15m, 20m and 40m

This brings me up to 150 DXCC worked with 104 confirmed by LoTW and 50 QRP DXCC worked.

lotw-logo-c

I was operating 5w SSB using my FT 817 radio and my S9 43 foot vertical.  Total operating time would be approximately 4 hours…ft817front

I had a great time but did have difficulties working the Big Guns and everyone heard them…  I had much better luck trying to work the 100w stations that I had trouble hearing but they had much better luck working me…  It was very hard breaking pileups with 5w but I did manage it a couple of times…

spiderbeam

Next Year…. look for another QRP attempt but this time with some sort of directional antenna to help combat the Kilowatts.  If not a directional antenna then operating from a location where I can stretch out wire antennas to compliment the 43 foot vertical.  There is still lots to learn…

73bob

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Results from the Contest”

  1. Bas PE4BAS Says:

    Hi Bob, you did great with QRP. I participated with the FT817 as well and made 20 QSOs in little over 1 hour on 20, 15 and 10m.
    I even heard someone working with 100mW to the US! Incredible!
    Will post about my efforts later on my blog. 73, Bas

    • VA3QV Says:

      Hi Bas… sounds like you had fun as well…. I found it easier to work the 100w stations than the kilowatts… I guess less people heard the 100w station so there pileups were easier to crack….

      When it stops being fun…. I’ll head back to ragchewing

      73bob

  2. Bob Says:

    Bob,
    Nice to read about your DXing in the ARRL SSB contest. I agree it was hard work, but fun to get though from time to time. i had about 40 QSOs over 4 bands, most on 15m. Bob VA3RKM

    • VA3QV Says:

      Hi Bob… Thanks for the comments and the visit to the blog… Sooner or later the snow HAS to melt and we can operate from one of the local parks again,,,

      73bob

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 911 other followers

