Back to Brewer Park

The wx was just fantastic this am and when I was talking with VA3PCJ on the phone we decided that it would be great time to let our radios play in the park… About one hour later we were setting up at Brewer Park (across from Carleton University) in Ottawa South…

We were set up at the south end of the complex near the pond…  In the same area we usually are…

chiliconradio

The stations were my FT 817/LDG QRP Autotuner combo along with my PAR QRP end fed antenna.  I was set up at one of the bleachers for the ball diamond and the Par was set up as a sloper (favoring the west) in the tree close by…

june5brewerpark

Jose VA3PCJ was using his Elecraft KX3 along with his S9 43 43 foot vertical.  The vertical was attached to the trailer hitch of his Jeep…

IMG_20130507_105057

It gets strange looks in the parking lot but it does work great…

Today the band conditions were not the best for me…  Lousy enough that I was starting to question if the FT 817 was having issues but suddenly the band improved just enough…

The first contact in the log was on 14.265 usb where AC8NI Tim relayed me into the SATERN Net.   The Net meets 6 days a week and you can get more info on them  from their website using the above link…

Looking at the info from QRZ our contact was at a distance of about 500 miles which normally would be a good distance for 40m but today the band that was working was 20m.  Was not the strongest report I have ever gotten but the fact that he heard me…. proved that my earlier problems were caused by poor propagation rather than equipment failure….

Shortly after that I managed a contact with W0LAV Charles in Missouri.  This 20m contact was just over 1000 miles and more in line with what I would concider normal for a 20m contact.  Once again the band conditions made sure we would not be ragchewing but the basics were exchanged so it was a contact…  Some days it just ain’t a QRP Day as their signals were great but it was a good thing the noise levels were low or I would of been talking to myself…

After that we tore down the setup and packed up…  By 1230pm we were enjoying a Starbucks and talking about how things went for us today and what we have planned (Field Day Station VE3DTI) for the future….

Enjoy your summer and keep on playing radio…

73bob

ps…

You might of noticed that its been a while since my last posting….  As my only way to operate HF this summer will be from a portable location (no antennas up at home for now) I will let you know what has happened whenever I get out to the parks…  The rest of the time I will not be radio active….  This is for the summer only and starting again in September once the antennas go back up and the new rig arrives I will be posting on a regular basis again…  For now it will be only when I have have something really neat to share…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 913 other followers

