DX Code of Conduct- A reminder

Now that I can actually hear some rare DX with the Flex… and yes its really neat listen to both halves of a “Split Operation” I am really noticing that some of us… (at time me included) could use a slight reminder on how we are supposed to conduct ourselves… Even though in most cases all of us forget the nice stuff and just start foaming at the mouth when we hear that rare one out there…

Here courtesy of http://www.dx-code.org/english.html   is the DX Code of Conduct .  If you click on the links below it will give you a bit more information as well.

DXCode_Logo_small

I will listen, and listen, and then listen again before calling.

I will listen, and listen, and then listen again before calling.

I will only call if I can copy the DX station properly.

I will not trust the DX cluster and will be sure of the DX station’s call sign before calling.

I will not interfere with the DX station nor anyone calling and will never tune up on the DX frequency or in the QSX slot.

I will wait for the DX station to end a contact before I call.

I will always send my full call sign.

I will call and then listen for a reasonable interval. I will not call continuously.

I will not transmit when the DX operator calls another call sign, not mine.

I will not transmit when the DX operator queries a call sign not like mine.

I will not transmit when the DX station requests geographic areas other than mine.

When the DX operator calls me, I will not repeat my call sign unless I think he has copied it incorrectly.

I will be thankful if and when I do make a contact.

I will respect my fellow hams and conduct myself so as to earn their respect. 

Now I know that none of you need this info but I am just sending it out as a reminder the the few who might have smelled the “blood in the water” and forgot common sense a bit …

DX_Shark

After we all make mistakes… and every now and again we just need a reminder…  we are human after all…

But remember to have fun this weekend…

73bob

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “DX Code of Conduct- A reminder”

  1. David vk4mdx Says:

    Reblogged this on David Olsen VK4MDX and commented:
    A reminder from VA3QV

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 913 other followers

