RAC Canada Winter Contest 2013

The contest ended at 7pm EST and after about 18 hours of operating with the Flex 1500 here is how it turned out for me…

Corrected results after double checking my log- December 29th 7pm est

Single Operator all Bands QRP (CW and SSB)

89 contacts for a total of 996 points with 38 multipliers for a TOTAL SCORE of 37,848 points

17 RAC stations contacted and 8 DX Stations

FLEX_Display_1

The Rig(s) used was my Flex 1500 and when my computer crashed I switched over to the FT 817 till my IT department was able to fix the problem.  Then I switched back to the Flex.  The antenna used was my 65 foot end fed long wire with 4 radials and fed with a 4:1 unun

new_wire_antenna

Buts heres how it looked on a Band/Mode basis

10m CW- 1 contact  VE6

10m SSB- 6 contacts VE5 and VE6

15m CW- 1 contact VE6

15m SSB- 16 contacts VO1, VE4, VE5, VE6, VE7

20m CW- 4 contacts VE3, VE6, VE7

20m SSB- 24 contacts VO1, VE1, VE9, VY2, VE3, VE4, VE5, VE6, VE7

40m CW- 2 contacts VE3

40 SSB- 15 contacts VE1, VE9, VE2, VE4, VE4, VE6

80m CW- 9 contacts  VE1, VE9, VE2, VE3, VE4, VE6

80m SSB- 17 contacts VE1, VE9, VE2, VE3, VE4, VE6

160m CW- 1 contact VE3

And for those of you who did not bother to count… I made a total of 18 CW contacts  and got an extra 13 multis for my effort… Or to be more specific the effort of CW Get Software and the Built in Keyer in the Flex 1500

Amateur_radio_prefixes_in_Canada

So there you have it… It was a great way to spend 18 hours… 2 pots of coffee and 1 box of Christmas Shortbreads and now its over…

This was the first time in a very long time that I have devoted this much time to a contest… Yes it was fun…  it had to be… But lets look at my contest requirements or goals

Have Fun- Check

Work across Canada- Check

Work into the North- NO… Only heard 1 VY1  station and he was Searching and Pouncing so I could never work him.  Did not hear VE8 or VY0…

Have a Decent Score-  I think it is… My idea of a decent score is to be in the top half of my catagory.  I believe it should be… Was not the best but it will do…

So with 3 out of 4 goals attained in the Contest I think it was great time…

Lessons learned here will be used to prep for the 2014 Ontario QSO Party which will be coming up in April 2014…

High Points of the contest…. Getting VE3CLQ (VE3FCT) into the log on 80m SSB…. Working VE6 on 80m QRPSSB and having VA2BBW hear me make a contact using CW

73bob

ps…  as I did mention that I had some computer issues this contest my submitted score could be slightly different from what I mentioned here.  I will be going over the logs to make sure that when the computer froze up that nothing was lost (or added),,, It should be close to whats shown on the page…

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “RAC Canada Winter Contest 2013”

  1. Mike VE3XMS Says:

    Very well done.

  2. VE3CLQ Bill Says:

    Must be one hell of an operation at VA3QV to have your own “IT Department” :-)

    • VA3QV Says:

      Hi Bill,

      Liz and I have this agreement about computers…. I pay for “IT” and she makes “IT” work… When “IT” does not work then I ask her to fix “IT”

      In the middle of the contest “IT” broke and she had to quickly repair “IT”

      73bob

  3. aa5d Says:

    Good morning Bob. Nice work in the contest! I was able to casually work about 35 stations in the RAC contest using CW. It was a lot of fun. I’ll be on the lookout for future RAC contests.

    73 de AA5D Mitch

    • VA3QV Says:

      Hi Mitch,

      Thanks for the visit to the blog and to the contest… glad you had a good time…

      73bob

      ps… RAC Canada Day Contest is on July 1 0000 utc…. same rules but its just warmer…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 911 other followers

