A reminder for mini DXPeditions

This afternoon I was checking through my EQSL inbox and recieved a notification of a QSO from a station that did not appear to be in my log…

DX_is_simple

So I did the usual checking of my log as I have been known to have the “Two Many Fingers on Keyboard syndrome” every now and again so I though that I would check and do a little more work to see whose fault it was….

Well this time it was not mine…. but…. rather what I would concider to be a fault found with the advent of electronic logging….

LoTW_2

He was in my log… Clear as day ….

<PORTABLE LOCATION PREFIX> / (his CALLSIGN)

example (w2/va3rcs)

But once he got home from his holiday and took the time to enter all his logs and send out the EQSL card he sent it from:

(HIS CALLSIGN)

example (va3rcs)

So my log claims that I worked him portable and his log claims that I worked him at home…  Therefore the QSO never took place….  Now I know it did and so I manually approved it and have sent him a note via email to advise him of what happened but….  I am now wondering if some of my LoTW QSOs that were never confirmed happened for the same reason and I have NO WAY of finding out….

eQSLLogo

SO… A REMINDER TO ALL YOU BUDDING DXPEDITIONERS OUT THERE….  MAKE SURE YOUR QSL ATTEMPTS ACTUALLY USE THE SAME CALLSIGN YOU USED IN THE DXPEDITION…

political-world-map-big

YOU MIGHT BE THE MISSING RARE ONE IN MY LOG…. and if I took the time to get you in the log when you were the rare DX please do it right so we can BOTH brag about it…

73bob

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “A reminder for mini DXPeditions”

  1. Bas PE4BAS Says:

    Many do not know you can make more then one certificate (for example I have PE4BAS and PE4BAS/P) in Lotw. The same counts for eQSL. Although in eQSL you can check for orphan QSLs, very handy. 73, Bas

    • VA3QV Says:

      Hi Bas… As always thanks for the visit and the comments…. If I am operating portable I normally just sign with my regular call as I don’t travel far from home…

      However in this case he lives in Continental Europe and was in a different and much more rare DXCC so it made a difference. I’m betting that there are many operators wondering what happened to their QSO needed for their DXCC

      73bob

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,280 other followers

