A reminder to the Ham Clubs out there

On the Amateur Radio side of things

Was doing some “google” searches over the last few days….  been looking for some Amateur Radio Related activities that I could participate in while Liz and I are on the road on our July trip.

So far what I have mostly found are broken links or if I am lucky out of date websites…  Today is May 9th and one site I visited in my search shows the next club meeting to be in early April.

I am hoping that at least the repeater guides are accurate so I might get some local information while on our travels.  Hard to sell the thought of “new toys” to Liz if the old toys work and there is just no one out there to talk to…

The bottom line is that …  Visiting Hams can’t find information about your Amateur Radio Club unless your website is accurate and current…  Just saying…

I also believe I now have all the parts needed to create the interface cable between my BAOFENG handheld and my old Android tablet.  Hopefully I can find the time to get it built in time for the end of May trip.  Perhaps you will see VA3QV-9 on your APRS screen or on APRS.fi in the near future… If I can get everyting to talk to APRSdroid as well

On the RV side of things

I will be checking the roof (now that monsoons have seemed to pass) to see if my patching job held.  If all is dry I will be starting to move in more of the gear needed to make it ours…

We do have test trip scheduled at the end of May (more on this later) and it would be nice if the creature comforts were in place before then…

CU later

Bob

 

 

Author: VA3QV

Usually an hard nosed SOB with an opinion... Other times a kind soul with an opinion.. Key words being "an opinion" and that my friends I will happily share with you at all times...