#RACFD2017 (my)Field Day adventure

Field Day… The last rainy weekend in June… more on that comment later….


Liz and I left Ottawa around 4pm and after a couple of wrong turns ended up at our destination just outside of Kemptville Ontario at the Red Devils AIRSOFT field.  It’s an interesting sport and Most weekends they are open for visitors..Check their Facebook page for more info


We were joining some friends fron the VE3ORF repeater group to operate as part of their Field Day effort.
Friday evening… after we got our rig set up we spent time socializing and having a FANTASTIC deep fried turkey dinner with all the fixings…  


This was a first for Liz and myself… but it won’t be the last…  I can see one of these fryers in our future…


While setting up I had planned to run my 1.5 Kw Champion Generator… That would of been enough power to run all my electronics except the roof mounted AC unit.

However the Ham who had the Trailer across from mine offered me a plug on his 9 Kw Champion so we had the luxury of AC to help Liz and myself when the humidity got a bit much.  It seems that size does matter…

Saturday morning we assembled our stations…  


We ran a 1a station using a Yaesu FTDX 1200 with a triband beam, Armstrong rotator and a 132 foot doublet fed by 450 ohm ladderline.


We used a Yaesu FT 897 on 6m with a 3 element beam…


The GOTA station was a Yaesu FT 840 with a doublet…

I started on the 6m station and spent a few hours looking for an opening with little success. The FTDX 1200 however was racking up the contacts on the HF Bands…

Saturday evening was spent in a social setting with the scheduled radio operators leaving the group setting to operate for their hour long shifts…

Sunday morning I operated on 40m and 80m SSB on the 1200 from 7am to 9am… Although I am  a Yaesu fan… I should of read the manual first… I did manage about 50 contacts and then checked 15m ssb and managed a few more log entries..  After the next operators came on shift I went back to the trailer and made Liz bacon and eggs…  It might be me but I think that food tastes better when cooked outdoors on the Coleman stove…

I went back to the 6m station and found an opening.  The 6m beam was aimed southwest and a fair amount of contacts were in the log.  


Shorty after that the skies opened up…  as you can tell by the pic I took of my neighbors rig…  It was the last rainy weekend in June.. Suddenly it was 2pm and it was over…  The antennas were lowered and the gear packed…  I got stuck trying to get out of the field towing out the trailer from our saturated site…  Good thing there was a 4×4 there with a tow strap…

All in all it was a great time…

We returned home Sunday evening and rushed to get ready for our first big trip…

The adventures continue as we head down to the east coast of Canada later this week…

CU then 

bob

Ps… sorry about the pics but…. it was easier to show you rather than tell you

Author: VA3QV

Usually an hard nosed SOB with an opinion... Other times a kind soul with an opinion.. Key words being "an opinion" and that my friends I will happily share with you at all times...