Antennas now status quo…. and a supper guest

Not QRP or QRO….But status quo…

Firstly, the W3EDP is back where it should be…. even though yesterday was not much good for band conditions here in VY2 Land I did try both SSB and PSK 31 with no takers…. 

I did hear a few Big Gun stations but their signals were down so I will blame it on poor band conditions.


It’s hard to call CQ WITH A QRP SETUP and yesterday it seems no one was hearing 5 watts and a wire … but sometimes that happens to the QRO stations and if it can happen to them…. it can happen to me…

After draining my power box… I left the antenna up but brought the rest of the gear back and the battery will be recharged in time for my next effort…  Looks like that will be for the upcoming VHF contest which is this weekend.  Look and Listen for the booming 5w of VA3QV/VY2 from FN86.  Wire dipole-at about 10 feet AGL is the best I can do…. So congrats in advance if You get in my log.

I then took a second look at our temperamental OTA TV antenna on out trailer…..  Using the McGyver method of trouble shooting it was determined that somewhere was a bad chunk of feedline.  In my toolkit I had a 20 foot length of RG 6 and so rather than find the bad piece I just ran new coax and now it works…. It’s not pretty…. that will happen once we get home…. but it works…

We have been at the same site now for 2 weeks so I’m feeling like a local…  For supper last night we had an outdoor  FRESH fish fry along with fried potatoes… EARLIER IN THE DAY IT WAS SWIMMING and in the evening he was my supper guest.  It was easier than I thought…. We keep a WOK in the camper so …. add cooking oil…. add potatoes and cook for a while…. then add fresh fillets covered in breadcrumbs an cook till everything is golden brown…  All this was done on the picnic table using our old Coleman Stove….


And of the end of the day we were full and happy….

Here for 2weeks with 2more weeks to go….

Enjoying the life and living the dream…

Bob

Author: VA3QV

Usually an hard nosed SOB with an opinion... Other times a kind soul with an opinion.. Key words being "an opinion" and that my friends I will happily share with you at all times...