Lobsterfest in Summerside

Thursday we headed into Summerside.  It was a multi purpose trip as we needed supplies, I needed to find a hardware store (more on that later) and my daughter Trisha wanted to visit Lobsterfest for her birthday.


Liz liked the idea of Lobster…. so it was a done deal (we thought)

We arrived in Summerside at the address given for the street sale that would take us towards the Fair grounds where the actual lobster carnival was located….  Liz took advantage of some really good pricing and I got to carry the purchases.  After the street sale we headed “up the road a tad” to the fairgrounds….  I never questioned the actual length of ” a tad ” but after about 8 blocks I was sent back to where we parked the truck and came back to pick everyone up…

Once we arrived at The fairgrounds (free admission and free parking) we took a walk around.  Not very different than the local country fairs in eastern Ontario other than the Lobster theme…

After our walkabout we decided to grab lunch.  Suddenly we noticed that Lobster was not on the menu at any of the food vendors….. or any other seafood for that matter…The usual “Carny” food was available but at Lobsterfest there was no seafood to be seen…  After asking at the info booth we found out that the big lobster dinner was on Friday night and we could pre purchase our tickets for that if we wanted…

It was mentioned that if we really wanted Seafood there was a little restaurant just outside of the fairgrounds…. The food was fantastic and fairly priced (very reasonable), then we returned to the fair where I met the Mayor of Summerside, The Chief of Police and the Commanding Officer of HMCS Summerside (Navy Ship) and some of his crew as the Summerside was docked in Summerside as part of the festivities….


After a pleasant (but Lobsterless) day we headed to a grocery store and the local Home Hardware store and then headed back to camp. There was a quick stop at the Liquor Store in Kensington for some refreshing beverages…


The stop at the Home Hardware was to pick up 108 inches of lightweight insulated zip cord which I quickly turned to an End Fed Half Wave (EFHW) antenna for 6m.  I plan to participate in the CQWW VHF Contest his weekend and giving the FN86 Grid Square to anyone who can hear 5w and a wire.  It will be casual operating but I do hope to make some contacts.  


I don’t usually participate in the CQ contests …. but this time…. I have the gear and the time so why not???  Last time I tried in 2015 was not too bad…

The adventure continues and we are loving it…

Bob

Author: VA3QV

Usually an hard nosed SOB with an opinion... Other times a kind soul with an opinion.. Key words being "an opinion" and that my friends I will happily share with you at all times...